Minnesota Permit to Carry Class

Osakis General Store and Guns Galore is happy to have the services of firearms Instructor, Jerry Pommerenke. Jerry has been teaching permit to carry and firearms classes for many years. As a former police officer, Jerry brings past experiences and real-life scenarios to assist attendees in understanding the legalities and responsibilities of handgun ownership and use in Minnesota.

Some topics that will be covered in this class:

  • Knowledge to help keep you physically, legally, financially and morally safe

  • Handgun basics

  • The legal use of force

  • Minnesota carry law

Upon successful completion of this class, you can apply for your Minnesota Permit to Carry a Pistol. A Minnesota permit is valid in 27 states.

Cost

  • New certification: $85

  • Renewal: $75

Payment is due prior to the start of class at the General Store counter (sorry, we do not offer online payments at this time). We accept cash, check or credit card.

Start Time

Classes begin promptly at 9 a.m. in the Osakis General Store and Guns Galore basement classroom. Please come a little early to check in and pay the registration fee.

Supplies

There will be a live shoot after the classroom portion so you will need to bring a handgun and 10-12 rounds of ammunition with you but leave it in your car until the live shoot. If you do not own a handgun, let the instructor know ahead of time and he will have a firearm available for rent. The class and live shoot will conclude no later than 3 pm.

Cancellation Policy

If something comes up and you need to cancel, just call the store at (320) 859-5159 within 24 hours of the start of class. In the event of inclement weather, you will be contacted via phone and e-mail.

Registration

You must be a resident of Minnesota to be eligible for the permit. We offer three options for you to register for a class:

  • Call the store at (320) 859-5159 and register over the phone

  • Stop by the store and register in-person

  • Fill out the form below to register online

 

To register online complete the form

Name *
Name
Address *
Address
Phone *
Phone
Which class would you like to attend?
Are you renewing or seeking new certification? *
Do you need to rent a handgun? *
A live shoot will take place after the lecture portion requiring you to have a handgun and 10-12 rounds of ammunition.